fbpx

House walkers to Restore $2B Cosmic Ray Detector

Astronauts efficiently transplanted a brand new coolant pump system outdoors of the Worldwide House Station, finishing the third in a sequence of no less than 4 difficult spacewalks to restore a $2 billion cosmic ray detector. Cosmic ray is a high-energy protons and atomic nuclei which move through space at nearly the speed of light.

Luca Parmitano of the European House Company (ESA) and Andrew Morgan with NASA continued performing “surgical procedure” on the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) on Monday (Dec. 2), two weeks after they started the difficult effort to interchange the cooling system for the state-of-the-art science instrument. The AMS, which was put in in 2011 to go looking of “darkish matter” and “darkish vitality,” was in peril of being completely disabled had the Upgraded Tracker Thermal Pump System (UTTPS) not been put in.

Starting their spacewalk at 6:31 a.m. EST (1131 GMT), Parmitano and Morgan first labored to mount and join the brand new, 350-pound (159-kilogram) UTTPS to the AMS.

On their subsequent spacewalk devoted to the AMS, Parmitano and Morgan will clear up their work space and put together the gadget to renew operation. A date for that fourth and probably final EVA on this sequence remains to be to be scheduled, although seemingly won’t be earlier than the brand new yr.

Monday’s spacewalk, which ended at 12:33 p.m. EST (1733 GMT), was the 224th in assist of house station meeting and upkeep since 1998 and the 11th this yr. It was the fifth profession spacewalk for Parmitano and the sixth for Morgan.

Twitter Facebook

%d bloggers like this: